Reviews

Customer Reviews

If you've had surfing lessons with Pukana Surf Ireland please tell us about your experience.
Click here to submit a review

My two boys, ages 7 and 9, did a week of surfing lessons with Carlos in Garrettstown this month. They absolutely loved it, and want to return to do lessons with him again next year. Thank you!
Lucy
August 2018
My kids did surf lessons with Carlos.He was a great teacher for both my boys age 10 and 14..They both really enjoyed and will definitely be back again..👍👍
CO'D
July/August 2018
All the materials we rented were in perfect condition, furthermore, they were so nice with us and helps us in everything they could. It was a nice experience surfing with pukana surf.
Marta casanova
Julio 2018
As a first time surfer I had a great time, it is so much fun! Carlos is a very good teacher, definitely I will get more lessons! See you in Garretstown.
Stefano
September 2018
Patrick 10Y of age absolutely loves surfing with Carlos. He is an excellent coach n absolutely knows his stuff. All the local kids surf under him. We are blessed having such a Caliber here in Garretstown!!! Patrick will now continue surfing over winter!
Patrick McFadden
13. Sep 2018
This great summer has opened us to this fabulous sport. Carlos has been extremly helpful in all areas, to us parents and mostly to our 15 and 7 yo boys. Carlos provided us with full account of what we needed to do and how and by doing so it has proben to be a succesfull experience. We are all looking forward to return next Sunday, and thankyou Carlos for all your support and dedication.
Núria
16.09.2018
My two boys (10 & 8) did the surf camp with Pukana this August. They also attend the weekly surf club, which Carlos leads. The guys have learned so much in such a short space of time. Carlos is excellent with the kids. He really makes them feel welcome and works with them at their pace. I highly recommend Pukana. In fact, a few friends are currently organising surf lessons with Carlos because the experience with the kids has been so good!!
John Dineen
August 2018
I always rent my boards etc from Carlos at Garretstown. Equipment is in great condition, and Carlos is always super friendly and helpful! I would definitely recommend him if you want to try surfing! Join us, and get hooked! :)
Michelle
August/September 2018
Mis dos hijos de 15 y 7 años participan cada semana en el surf club que Carlos dirige. Mis hijos están muy motivados para continuar y eso esta unido a la personalidad tan amable y gran pedagogía de Carlos. Hemos ido tres semanas consecutivas y cada vez se nota cómo progresan y se sienten cómodos y familiarizados con el entorno. Carlos está siempre pendiente de ellos y adapta la clase al estado emocional de los niños. Siempre con una gran sonrisa y amabilidad. Para nuestra familia Pukana/Carlos ha sido un descubrimiento fantástico que nos permite hacer juntos esta actividad tan gratificante. El paraje es ideal tb. Gracias Carlos por contribuir a nuestro bienestar. Nos vemos el próximo domingo.
Núria
16.09.2018
I had my first surf lesson with Carlos in Garretstown, and I liked it so much that during the second weekend I already had my second lesson! Carlos is a very good teacher, he explains things in a clear way and he is always willing to help when you are on the board among the waves :-) I definitely recommend to start this beautiful sport with him!
Marco
September 2018
I'd had a few surfing lessons years ago but they hadn't really equipped me with the basics to get started and surf properly. Every trip to the beach involved me failing to catch any waves and usually going home disappointed. I decided recently to remedy that situation, start from scratch and get some lessons. I'd seen Pukana Surf online and got in touch to book a lesson. When I arrived for the lesson, Carlos greeted me warmly and sorted me out with a wetsuit He then demonstrated techniques on how to lie and stand up on the board. His manner was very engaging and I found it easy to pick up the techniques when it was my turn to repeat what was shown to me. When we hit the water, I was able to use the techniques to manage myself on the board and before long I found I had the confidence to paddle out through waves, sit on the board, turn and catch a wave. Carlos was in the surf with me to provide support, extra tips on how to improve and the all important 'thumbs up' for a good board ride. Catching that first wave and riding it into the beach was such a thrill. I caught wave after wave and my confidence increased with each one and I was able to apply the skills shown to me and build on them. Overall, I can't recommend Pukana Surf highly enough. In one 90 minute lesson, I had so much fun and also picked up so many good skills and technique. Most importantly, I 'surfed', I actually held my own in the surf, I caught waves and rode a surfboard properly. Book some time with Pukana Surf, you'll absolutely love the experience. I did.
Brian McCarthy
October 29th 2018
We had a family surf lesson with Carlos yesterday. Although I had my own gear, he provided hoods, booties and gloves along with winter wetsuits. He is an extremely experienced surfer himself and very patient with people. I would highly recommend his service for both kids and adults!
Joey Beecher
October 2018
If waves are good, we always use Pukan Surf during the weekends. They have brand new wetsuits, a big range of different boards and they let us do our thing. The most important thing - the price is very good.
Erik Hofmann
27.10.2018
Ciara dolan
November 208
Just finished our second surfing lesson with Carlos and cannot recommend him highly enough. The kids feel safe and confident in the water with him but most of all its really great fun. After only 2 lessons my sons technique has improved so much and he's already begging me to book our next lesson. With the proper wetsuits, gloves and booties you won't feel cold in the water even in winter. Young or old, you won't regret it.
Ciara dolan
November 2018
We had our 12 year old sons birthday party with Carlos in Garrettstown. Every child had a brilliant time and most had never surfed. They’re thinking of asking for surf boards for Christmas now! It was such a great experience for them all. Thanks Carlos!
Julie
20/10/18
To have been my first time in such a cold climate, with the suit I wore I did not miss the warm water. Excellent equipment, really top quality. In addition, the classes are very detailed and the support within the water is permanent!
Maru
24/11/2018
Had a lesson with Carlos today and it was brilliant! He made sure I felt safe on the water and helped improve my surfing skills. The lesson was suitable to all levels and there was a great atmosphere amoung the group, would recommend to everybody.
Ellen Murphy
January 2019
Rented surf boards in gtown off Carlos for my girlfriend and 2 friends. They absolutely loved it. He was so helpful to us, and gave some great tips and safety measures. My friends are hooked on surfing ever since. Thanks Carlos.
John
January 2019
Regularly good to Pukana Surf in Garretstown and never been disappointed ! Carlos is both kind and welcoming and is always giving us tips and bits of advice ! Just recently I messaged Carlos the morning before we traveled to Garretstown and asked would he be able to accomadate myself and 16 of my friends. Even on short notice, on a January sunday morning he was able to sort us all. He's always happy and cheerful and I couldn't recommend him more!
Robert O Halloran
20Jan2019
Excellent time down with Carlos. Had excellent winter gear for 14+ friends who had come down to join us. He even had top quality gear for my 4Y/O daughter including hoods and boots and everything in between. Carlos even managed to convince her to get on the board with us and she was delighted. Very engaging in all who were there and was constantly hitting everyone with little bits of knowledge. 10/10. Everyone who was down is only mad to get down for another shot off it.
Edward Earle
Sunday 13th of January
Absolutely awesome! Such a nice guy with equipment that is in super condition. Great value too! Couldn't recommend this enough!
Stephen Duke
January 13th 2019
My 12 yr old son has done several lessons and camps with Carlos. He is a fantastic coach and provides insightful analysis and goals so it’s clear what you need to work on to progress. He has a warm fun personality and is a natural with kids of all ages. Connie
Connie Browne
2019

For Bookings

Phone Carlos:

086 199 8959